September 23, 2012

Cannons announce 23-man protected roster

The Boston Cannons have announced their 23-man protected list for the 2013 Major League Lacrosse season.

Each off-season, MLL teams can protect 23 players for the following year. Unprotected players automatically enter the league player pool and can be selected by any team in the Dec. 12 Supplemental Draft.

"It is never easy to narrow our roster to 23 layers," said Cannons General Manager Kevin Barney. "This is just one step in our off-season plans to evaluate our strengths and weaknesses and put together the best team to win the MLL championship next season."

The 23-man list is highlighted by 2012 Offensive Player of the Year Paul Rabil, all-time MLL assists leader Ryan Boyle, and 2011 Championship Weekend MVP Jordan Burke.

Notably absent from the roster is defensive midfielder JJ Morrissey, a Winchester, Mass., native who informed the Cannons last week that he will be retiring from MLL play. The Cannons also traded face-off specialist John Ortolani, of Billerica, Mass., to the Rochester Rattlers for their second-round pick in the 2014 Collegiate Draft.

"We hate to lose JJ and John, as they were both exemplary team members on and off the field," said Barney. "They won't be easy to replace, but we're definitely looking to use our early picks in the upcoming Collegiate Draft to find players that will make an immediate impact."

Just before the deadline, the Cannons acquired defensive midfielder Brent Adams from the Bayhawks, sending their fifth-round pick in the 2014 Collegiate Draft to Chesapeake. A Norwalk, Conn., native and All-American at Fairfield University, Adams was selected with Chesapeake's 53rd pick in the 2012 Collegiate Draft.

The 2013 Collegiate Draft takes place on Jan. 11 in Philadelphia in conjunction with the US Lacrosse National Convention. The Cannons begin with the sixth, ninth and 14th picks in the first two rounds of the draft.

Boston Cannons 2013 Protected Roster

Brent Adams - M

Jake Beebe - A

Mitch Belisle - D

Ryan Boyle - A

Chris Boland - A

Kevin Buchanan - M

Jordan Burke - G

Martin Cahill - M

Chris Eck - M/FO

Brian Farrell - D

Jon Hayes  - M

Pat Heim - M

Bill McGlone - M

Matt Poskay - A

Paul Rabil - M

Jack Reid - D

PT Ricci - D

Matt Smalley - M

Owen Smith - M

Mike Stone - M

Ari Sussman - A

Kyle Sweeney - D

Kevin Vaughan - M